Let the tricks begin!

A while back, I started a travel blog, which you can read at https://thevikingsven.wordpress.com. Thus far, I haven’t updated it as frequently as I had intended, first because I was too busy with the actual travels, then because I got sidetracked. However, another wordpress user mentioned she liked the viking pun in my “About” section. Thus, I created this spinoff blog.

Each entry will consist of at least one example of bizarre wordplay. If you understand it and find it amusing right away, fantastic. If not, though, I will also post a link to an explanation at the bottom of each entry, which you can highlight to read.

I wracked my brain attempting to decide with which Linguistic Parlor Trick I should start this blog, finally settling on the one below. I wish I could claim credit for devising it, but it’s a Swedish classic.

A Swedish student is his first or second year of studying German is asked to translate the following German sentence into Swedish:

Der alte Greis rief seine Kinder und sprach.

The student translates it as

Den gamla grisen rev sina kinder och sprack.

Explanation

Leave a Reply

